Happy Easter!

Because I feel that an Easter post is a necessary one, here it is! Happy Easter! My Easter will be spent with my family, but mostly Mike and his girlfriend. We’re not doing anything fancy, but I’m working my hardest to have a decent day.

Mike and I began our Easter last night, we went to the dollar store and spent a total of 17 dollars putting together hilarious baskets for eachother. Candy, fake mustaches, matching alligator hats, you name it, it was in those baskets. We laughed hysterically as we walked around the dollar store, not realizing that nothing had a price tag on it because…believe it or not, everything was indeed a dollar! I guess the sign out front just wasn’t enough for us to actually believe it! It was the best part about my Easter so far.

Of course though we both woke up to Easter baskets from my parents. Regardless of if we are a dysfunctional family ruled by the abuse of my father there are still many moments where we pretend. Mike and I’s 16 and 20 year old selves came down the stairs this morning searching for our baskets. We all sat around the living room looking through them pretending like everything was okay, and still laughing about the things we had gotten eachother. We ended the morning with a drive to a fast food restaurant for breakfast and a trip to our local grocery store. Now were back and my father is naturally back to work, my mother is in the kitchen, and Mike is sitting next to me playing Call of Duty. Such a perfect game given the day.

Soon Mike and I will go pick up his girlfriend and spend the rest of the day sitting around eating our souls away with sugary Easter goodness. There is an abundance of sweets around the house. Regardless of the fact that we knew we would be getting truckloads of candy today Mike and I made two cakes yesterday so now we have candy and cake just sitting around the house begging to be eaten.

My readers know we couldn’t get through a post without me talking about how I’m actually doing and right now, in this moment I am doing okay. It’s a holiday and for the first time since he told me he was thinking about coming back I am letting myself be hopeful. What I mean by that is, I’m not purposely letting hope in, but I’m not combating it if it comes. I will go back to combating it tomorrow, but just for today, so I’m not a complete ball of distress and depression, I’m not combating hope.

What are your Easter traditions though? Do you do anything funny? Are you like Mike and I and over the age of 16 but still receiving Easter baskets from your family? Let me know what your doing!

Leave a comment